For the last... oh i dont know... couple years I guess... I have struggled with long rides. I never look forward to them. I find them boring and tedious. Worst of all, i often feel that i don't get the training effect that i am looking for because inevitably my mind wanders and my HR slips down or worse, i have energy problems and end up stopping twelve times for coke and cookies. Its rarely pretty.
After returning from St. Croix, Clint and i were looking at the next couple weeks as I prepare for IM Brazil. You'll have to do a 5h30 ride on Tuesday or Wednesday, Clint said. Ugh, I thought, can i split it up? Can we do 2 sessions so i have something to focus on? And then without thinking i said, I'll do a triple ride day, and run off all of them.
Ummm... what?
Clint's eyes lit up, Great idea! And so it was.
Here's what i did:
7.30am:
BIKE 2h45 with 4x 15mins above IM race pace w 5mins easy spin between
RUN 30mins build
2.00pm:
BIKE 1h40 trainer ride as follows:
6x
(3mins tempo/1min easy
2mins tempo/2mins easy
1min tempo/2min easy)
This is a fun little session if you want to try something different, by the time you hit the 1min intervals you feel like a lion ready to pounce!
RUN 25mins as 15x 30/30, 10mins easy
5.30pm:
BIKE 1h20 trainer as follows:
6x
(6mins overgear/4mins steady)
RUN 10mins easy jog
And that was my day. 5h45 of biking and 1h05 of running.
The best thing about it was that i felt strong and good all day long, making me feel like i might just be able to handle a 180km ride on race day.
Here is a picture of my office. Its more like a messy corner of the kitchen, but it does the job. Notice how i set up my computer to watch shows while on the trainer (I am currently watching The Sopranos, Season 2). Also notice how suweet my new Trek Speed Concept is!
When i am not biking, this area quickly converts back into a desk where i write programs or call athletes. If you look closely on the far right, you can see Rosalee's Jolly Jumper where she does her training!
Happy Days!
0 comments:
Post a Comment