Ironman Brazil 2013

  • Subscribe to our RSS feed.
  • Twitter
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Facebook
  • Digg

Thursday, 6 January 2011

Rosalee goes for a swim

Posted on 14:21 by omprakash
The last 6 weeks have been, ummm... eventful...

In the last weeks of my pregnancy, I slowly started to do less and less training. It just felt right to do that, like a taper ;) I stopped running at 32 weeks. I felt i could have kept running, but made the decision with view to preventing injury. At that point i added water running to my "regime". At 37 weeks my pelvis started to feel "loose" and achy on the trainer, so i stopped biking. In the final week i swam every other day and walked 1.5h with the dog every other day and that was enough!

I was in labour for 30h, which was painful. There are no two ways about it. Its painful. I am often asked which is worse, childbirth or Ironman, and i'm gonna go with childbirth. If i had been in labour for 9h instead of 30, I might feel differently about that. But, labour is something that comes upon you, you have no control over the pain. It just is. Ironman is all choice. You choose to do the race, you choose to push hard or go easy, its like the "choose your own adventure" of pain. Labour, not-so-much.

My comeback to training has been slow. Slower than i would like. I had to barter with my doctor over how soon i could go to the pool. We finally met in the middle and I went back after 3.5 weeks. I am now in my second official week of training and while slow, my fitness is returning. The dog is sure happy to have her running partner back. Justify Full
We are lucky because our baby sleeps. A few times a week, Clint and I get up and head to the pool. If he is coaching, he watches Rosalee and I swim. At noon masters, Coach Paul or Coach Dan watch over Rosie while we both swim. Here is where Rosie sits while Dad coaches and Mom swims:

On Tuesday after our swim session, Rosalee got to go swimming as well. I am not an expert, but I say she's a natural. Here is a sample of her backstroke. She is already a better backstroker than her mother.


And here is her frontcrawl... i still have her beat on this one.


Happy New Year everyone!
Thanks for reading/watching.
Sara
Email ThisBlogThis!Share to XShare to FacebookShare to Pinterest
Posted in | No comments
Newer Post Older Post Home

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to: Post Comments (Atom)

Popular Posts

  • Rosalee goes for a swim
    The last 6 weeks have been, ummm... eventful... In the last weeks of my pregnancy, I slowly started to do less and less training. It just fe...
  • An Interview with Julie
    A couple months ago I started working with Julie as our team manager for Mercury Rising. Julie has a wonderful blog chronicling her triathlo...
  • my best culinary invention so far
    A couple weeks ago i was busy making my fave snack of veggies and guacamole when i thought to myself, this really is a tasty treat, but it d...
  • Kona Vids
    This is what it looks like to run tough (yay michelle! I am so proud.) This is what it looks like to win the race: Today was great.
  • what to do if its raining, you are pregnant, and you just have to go for a ride
    1. Make sure your front wheel is high enough that you have good clearance between your thighs and your unborn child. This is particularly im...
  • dog days
    And i'm not talking about the jet lag... although its been pretty bad, certainly my worst return from Oz. I feel awful!! Anyway. Clint a...
  • triple training days with z-dawg
    Since we got Zoey we've been walking her in the morning and then either running or walking again in the afternoon (depending on my train...
  • Video Tribute to Kerry
    I have been meaning to post this for awhile. This is the video tribute that two of our Mercury Rising team members put together to remember ...
  • St. Croix Race Report
     Lowery Hill (Photo by Justin Fabian) My season  did not start out as I would have liked, but the disaster in Australia gave me the opportun...
  • This is my Gramma. She is 100.
    My paternal grandmother turned 100 on Valentines Day. She is amazing. She lives by herself in an apartment. She shops, cooks and cleans. She...

Blog Archive

  • ►  2013 (7)
    • ►  May (4)
    • ►  April (2)
    • ►  March (1)
  • ►  2012 (11)
    • ►  November (1)
    • ►  October (4)
    • ►  August (1)
    • ►  May (2)
    • ►  March (1)
    • ►  January (2)
  • ▼  2011 (21)
    • ►  November (2)
    • ►  September (1)
    • ►  August (3)
    • ►  July (4)
    • ►  June (5)
    • ►  May (3)
    • ►  April (1)
    • ►  February (1)
    • ▼  January (1)
      • Rosalee goes for a swim
  • ►  2010 (24)
    • ►  November (1)
    • ►  September (2)
    • ►  August (2)
    • ►  July (6)
    • ►  June (2)
    • ►  April (3)
    • ►  March (1)
    • ►  February (3)
    • ►  January (4)
  • ►  2009 (15)
    • ►  December (2)
    • ►  November (4)
    • ►  October (4)
    • ►  September (3)
    • ►  August (2)
Powered by Blogger.

About Me

omprakash
View my complete profile