Thursday afternoon I was driving to the airport with my Dad and Mary (who just happened to be flying to Dubai on the same evening I was flying to Brazil). With rain pelting down on the windshield, we reached the Tim Hortons that is 7mins from the airport in good time and promptly hit Toronto gridlock. Much stress, mild panic and 45mins later, I flew into the terminal, running with my bike box in one hand and Zoot bag in the other.
The United check in area was quiet. I’m talking, not a single passenger, tumbleweed blowing across the luggage belt, quiet. My stomach sunk as the repercussions of missing my flight started to sink in. I had only 1h layover in Washington, so there was no way to get there in time for my flight to Sao Paulo. And there is only 1 flight per day to Sao Paulo with United. I tried to dismiss images of myself stuck in a Toronto hotel room while I was supposed to be in Florianopolis preparing for the Ironman.
Two United employees were laughing and joking with each other behind the counter as I sheepishly approached waiting to hear my fate. Without a word, the male employee took my passport and starting furiously typing on his computer. I was shaking and trying to remain composed. As he continued typing for what seemed like forever, he thanked me for my patience. Surely the fact that he was taking so long had to be a bad sign. Was he trying to find the best way to tell me that there was no way to get me to Brazil before Sunday?
When he finally looked up, he said “The flight to Washington is delayed and there is no way you can make your connection.” I nodded… “so I have rebooked you on the direct flight to Sao Paulo with Air Canada”. I was so relieved I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry or jump over the counter and kiss him. (For the record, I went with a simple “thank you so much”)
Holy Crap. Direct flight! No clearing US customs, no running through Dulles airport to my next gate, just board and fly. Add to this the fact that I was given a seat in the rear of the plane in an EMPTY ROW of three. I was the only passenger with three seats to myself, and for a 10h overnight flight to Sao Paulo nothing could be more perfect. I hunkered down and slept 8 beautiful hours, waking up in time to be served coffee and catch an episode of Modern Family.
Two years ago Ironman Brazil was the first Ironman I attempted after Rosalee was born. My girl was only 6 months old and off I flew to Florianopolis. I was discussing my choice to race so soon after Rosie arrived with a friend the other day and was left wondering whether it had been a good decision. I ended up DNFing in that race. But when I reflected on the trip as a whole I realized just how many good things came out of it. I had never thought about this before. First of all, the trip itself was the most fun I have ever had on a race trip. I reconnected with some old friends who gave me a lead on a condo in Tucson. Two years later, I have spent many fun weeks and months in our condo in Tucson. I have grown closer to some friends and made many new ones as a result. I have trained my heart out on Tucson’s open roads. My mom bought a condo in the same complex. Without that trip to Brazil its hard to say if any of this would have happened. Just goes to show that when something "bad" happens, it might actually turn out to be good.
(PS. I am posting this from a hotel room in Sao Paulo because my flight was delayed by 29h on my way home!)
(PS. I am posting this from a hotel room in Sao Paulo because my flight was delayed by 29h on my way home!)

0 comments:
Post a Comment