Ironman Brazil 2013

  • Subscribe to our RSS feed.
  • Twitter
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Facebook
  • Digg

Wednesday, 30 November 2011

IM Cozumel Race Report

Posted on 11:29 by omprakash



Before i start my report, let me just say that Cozumel is one of the coolest places i have ever been. And the whole island came out to cheer us on. It is a really special Ironman. I could go on about the place, but this is a race report, not a travel guide and I suspect the report itself will be long enough!

I have a lot to say about this race, about doing 2 Ironman races 7 days apart, what i did in between and what i learned about myself and my sport. I thought i would start with the race itself.

I arrived in Cozumel on Friday afternoon, a bit late in the week compared to my norm, but in time to register and get settled. The legendary Ben Cotter (a fellow pro from Victoria) had hooked us up with amazing accomodations right by the finish line. We each had a rooftop bedroom overlooking the water. The rooms were simple and "mexico" all-over, but they were 1/3 the price of the regular hotel rooms below.
Saturday I got myself aquainted with the swim course, walked through the transition areas, did a quick interview with TSN and generally felt ready to go. I was feeling recovered and very relaxed. My legs weren't as fresh as they had been the previous Saturday, but they weren't too bad either.

Race morning came and I was so relaxed i almost fell asleep in the taxi on the way to the start. But by the time i set up my bike and waited in line for the porta-potties, i had built up plenty of nerves. As I stood with the other pros in the starting area I realized that this was the first time in long time that i really didn't know if i was going to be able to complete the task I had set for myself. And to be clear, the task was as follows;

To compete at 2 Ironman races in 8 days. Note the word compete. I was not there to complete the race, but to compete in it. I was not looking for a 12h finish, i wanted to race. And i have to say, it felt really good to step into the unknown. It felt good to be in that grey area where i knew i was going to be tested physically and mentally. This was the challenge i was looking for and I knew i would get it.
We got in the water for a quick warm and then we were off. Almost immediately, I got dropped by the first pack. I was swimming ok, but just didnt have the sharpness required for the sprint off the line. This didnt really phase me, i just got into my groove and trusted my own swim ability. It quickly became apparent that i was one of the better swimmers in the group I was with, so i made my way to the front and started to chase a small group that was about 100m infront of us.

The swim in Cozumel is non-wetsuit and the water is as clear as you can imagine. You can see every ripple of sand of the ocean floor. Its beautiful. Even though i led the pack most of the way, I came out of the water feeling good.

On the first lap of the bike I felt great. My legs felt strong and fresh. I overtook a couple girls without much effort and started to get excited about how well the day was going. On Thursday before the race, I had a last-minute tune-up with Bob from Sportexcel via Skype. Bob told me that when we feel fatigue or pain, our vision starts to narrow and darken. So everytime i felt myself going into "the cave", I would consciously expand my vision by focusing on the periphery and "brightening" my field of vision. This really worked!! It kept me in the moment and time was just flying by.


At some point during the second lap, I started to feel really uncomfortable on by bike. My shoulders were hurting, my butt was sore, and worst of all, lots of age groupers were blowing by me. I started to get the impression that i was losing ground. The course in Cozumel is 3 loops, bone flat and windy as heck. By the third lap i knew i was really slowing down and had become incredibly uncomfortable. I kept trying to pull myself out of the cave, but it was a battle now. It was also very hot by this point in the day. A number of women passed me on the 3rd lap.
In 19 Ironman races, I can honestly say that i have never been so happy to see T2. The time on the clock said 6.38 which was exactly 30mins slower than i had entered T2 the week before. Feeling lightheaded, discouraged, hot and grumpy, I entered T2 and really had no choice but to take my time. Some cute, 12-year-old Mexican girls lathered me with suncream as I gathered myself and tried to face the marathon. The thing that actually got me out of my funk was a fellow pro woman who was in T2 at the same time as i was. She was cramping up and being carried away on a stretcher. It was a good reminder that things could be a whole lot worse. Her pain became my gain (Ben called this side of me "cold Sara"... I secretly like her).


So out i went onto the run course. At this point, I was reassessing my goals. I came into the race looking for a top 5 finish, but at this point i thought I would be happy just to finish under 10 hours. So, with this new mindset, I set out. At first, all i could do was jog.

I jogged out the first lap and the heat and wind continued. I don't think i mentioned, but Cozumel has a similar climate to Hawaii, but with more humidity. Oh, and windier. I usually hold off on drinking Coke until halfway through the marathon, but the way things were going i thought, screw that, I need it now. So, at about mile 9 I took my first sip of coke and it might as well have been cocaine. It was ice cold, still fizzy and absolutely awesome. Sometime, not long after this, the clouds rolled in offering some much-needed respite from the heat. I continued to take Coke at almost every aid station and life got a whole lot better. Then the skies opened and torrential rain poured about as much as rain can pour during hurricane season on a small island off the coast of Mexico. And not long after it started, a section of the run course flooded and we were all wading through knee-deep water. Other parts just turned into big puddles. It was actually kind of funny.
I spent most of the run thinking I was out of the money placings and was just trucking along trying to get my sub-10h finish. The route was 3 out-and-back loops and I hadnt bothered to count the number of women infront of me. As i started the third loop, I was really starting to come around. Marino Vanhoenacker was standing by the side of the road, looked at me and said, You are in 8th and you look good. 8th? Really? I was pleasantly surprised to learn that i was that far up the field. And so i ran faster. The last loop of the run was definitely the best part of my day. I was feeling human again and really running. I overtook 2 more women and ended up just one spot shy of my goal of Top 5. I got a little choked up in the finishing chute as i allowed myself to remember that i had done 2 Ironman races 2 weekends in a row and was about to finish the 2nd one. 9 hours and 56 minutes.

It was an interesting experiment and I look forward to expounding on what i learned. I will save that for another day.

I wont repeat my list of thank yous since you can find them below in last week's race report, but i will say this: Thank you to everyone who supported me the last few weeks in big ways and small ways. Thank you to everyone who encouraged me on email, Facebook and Twitter. I appreciate you all.

Sara


Read More
Posted in | No comments

Thursday, 24 November 2011

Ironman Arizona and Stuff

Posted on 17:08 by omprakash

I knew i was fairly fit going into this Ironman and coming out the other side I feel that my 9.18 finish is about right. I ran a 3.07, a PB for me (my previous best was 3.10) and I swam and rode solidly. The only time I've gone faster was in IM Western Autralia in 2006, which was not only a long time ago, but also pre-baby. The course in Arizona is a bit more challenging than WA, so 9.18 is pretty darn close to my best race ever. And i finished 8th. 8th. Yes, you read that correctly, 8th. The last girl to get a paycheck that day. It reminds me of the time I broke the course record at Ironman Florida, but unfortunately, so did 6 other women infront of me that day. Sigh. So I am content with my performance but the fire in my belly has also been stoked.

As for the race itself. I felt good in the morning when i woke up. I had been sleeping well in the week leading up to the race, so i was healthy and strong. I had virtually no warm up for the swim, but felt confident. I got in with a good group and was swimming well, at the right intensity. After the turn around at about the 2k-mark, the guy infront of me fell off the group and a gap opened up. I was lucky enough to be right there and see what had happened. I put in a hard effort for about 200m, swam around him and got back on the pack. Phew!! I was not surprised to learn i had swum a low-54. Thats what it felt like.

I left transition pretty quickly and felt good starting the bike. It always bodes well if the first few kms on the bike feel strong. Then i know i am in for a good day. The 3-lap, out-and-back bike course is well-paved and fast. There is a slight uphill grade going out and coming back is fast. There was some wind out there, so it was not without some challenges.

I was riding strong and girls just kept coming by me. The good news is that most of them weren't blowing by like i was standing still, but still A LOT of women passed me. The weird thing is, i was riding well. Going into the race, i expected to ride about 5.10 on a good day and i knew i was doing that. So many girls were riding under 5h out there! Its great to see, great for the sport and great for woman-kind in general, but WAIT UP GIRLS!!! It took me about 30mins post-race to start plotting how to improve my ride for 2012.

Starting the run, I saw Clint and knew he thought i was having a bad race because of the sheer number of women in front of me off the bike (i think i was in 17th or 18th then?). I could tell by the look on his face that he wasn't feeling great about it (Clint would not do well in a game of poker). If i there had been time for a chat i would have explained that i was actually having a decent race and that i cant really control what everyone else is doing, but keep the faith. Its going well!!

Out on the run and I started at about 3h marathon pace, which i knew i was fit enough to hold. At mile 6, a salt tab exploded in my throat. I know, stupid right? It was the most painful bloody thing. It was like someone detonated a small bomb in my larinx. ouch. I walked and coughed and walked and coughed. White powder was blowing out of my mouth. Water just made it feel worse, but i knew i had to drink it!! Two women ran by me while i was having this little episode and just as the paramedics reached me, i came good and started jogging again and then running properly. My throat still hurts as i write this.

Once that nonsense was over, the rest of the run went by without a hitch. I felt strong and enjoyed striding my way past 10 or so women to finally grab that last paycheck and 8th place overall. HUGE kudos to the 7 fantastic ladies in front of me who continue to set the bar higher and higher! I love how fast the women are going these days. Special thanks to Linsey, Meredith and Amanda for their encouraging words post-race. They are classy girls and great competitors.

In October, when i was in Kona, I sent out an email to my support crew saying I wanted to do a training camp in Tucson and take Rosalee (my 11-month old daughter) with me. It sorta seemed crazy at the time, but I had a simple mantra in my head "lets make this happen," and so we did. That means that after all is said and done, there are a number of people without whom i couldn't have even raced and another group without whom I would not have raced as well as i did. Unfortunately, the $1000 paycheck is not enough to share, but if it was, a number of people would be worthy of a cut. Here is a short list (apologies to those who didnt make the list... I appreciate each and every one of you, I just dont want to bore my readers):

Shelley Thomson (without a "p")- Nanny, friend and swimming partner extraodinaire. There is no one kinder in this world.. at least not that i've met.

My Mom- My brave mother took the plunge and bought a condo in Tucson, allowed me and my crew to take over the place, babysat during some long training days and trips to Mt. Lemmon. Thanks Grandma D.

Rachel Kiers- This girl was all things when required, training partner, babysitter, chef, laundry folder, cheerleader, smoothie-maker, the list could go on forever. I have never known anyone who can figure out how to read the needs of others and help them more than Rachel. And husband Mike is not far behind. Thank you. Thank you.

Marilyn and Chris McDonald- Now here is a fabulous couple. So generous in every way, they helped myself and Clint dozens of times over the last few weeks. I am lucky to know them.

Angela Naeth- Angela showed me where to ride, and put up with me knocking on her door with a sheepish face saying "Can i borrow this? Can i borrow that?". Much appreciated.

Bill Kruse- Massage therapist to pretty much every pro in Tucson. Bill will talk your ear off about everything under the sun and you leave feeling not only physically good, but having learned a thing or two as well.

The Husband- My dear Clinton always makes sacrifices for me so that i can race to my potential and for that I am extraordinarily thankful. Without him there would be no triathlon.

My Sponsors- Zoot, Rudy Project, The Trek Store (Victoria), Sportexcel and Altitudetech. Without their ongoing support i could not afford to chase my dreams.

Mercury Rising Triathlon- Thanks to the team for all the pre-race wishes and post-race kudos! Its great to share my tri-journey with such an enthusiastic group. Lets go flaming squids!!

And lastly, thank you for reading my report. I also love comments and questions.

Sara
 
Photos above courtesy of Zoot Sports.
Photos below courtesy of Rachel Kiers.
 
Rosalee and Grandma D.
 
Shelley and I after a swim workout
 
 
A view from a training ride on Mt Lemmon
 
 
 
 
Read More
Posted in | No comments
Newer Posts Older Posts Home
Subscribe to: Comments (Atom)

Popular Posts

Blog Archive

  • ►  2013 (7)
    • ►  May (4)
    • ►  April (2)
    • ►  March (1)
  • ►  2012 (11)
    • ►  November (1)
    • ►  October (4)
    • ►  August (1)
    • ►  May (2)
    • ►  March (1)
    • ►  January (2)
  • ▼  2011 (21)
    • ▼  November (2)
      • IM Cozumel Race Report
      • Ironman Arizona and Stuff
    • ►  September (1)
    • ►  August (3)
    • ►  July (4)
    • ►  June (5)
    • ►  May (3)
    • ►  April (1)
    • ►  February (1)
    • ►  January (1)
  • ►  2010 (24)
    • ►  November (1)
    • ►  September (2)
    • ►  August (2)
    • ►  July (6)
    • ►  June (2)
    • ►  April (3)
    • ►  March (1)
    • ►  February (3)
    • ►  January (4)
  • ►  2009 (15)
    • ►  December (2)
    • ►  November (4)
    • ►  October (4)
    • ►  September (3)
    • ►  August (2)
Powered by Blogger.

About Me

omprakash
View my complete profile